Search This Blog

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Attitude!!

          Hii everyone!! This has been a tough semester ,although there hadn't been an easy one till now.The reason being winter.Now that the winter is fading away its the TA 201's turn now to annoy us. Not that it includes a project,not that it is so materialistic,not that the labwork is so exhausting.It is because the way our instructor takes attendance in the class on the basis of seat numbers and the fear he instilled in us for grades(WTH!!!).
          It happened yesterday that our instructor was absent and some other one took the class.He was no different than a usual geeky proffessor.People were actually surprized why he was taking too much time start the lecture,in arranging the slides.Infact he didn't find how to start the slide show in a ppt!!
          But that was the other side of the coin. When he started the lecture with"In my 23 years of teaching this is the first time I am using powerpoint presentation to teach and these were prepared by your instructor!"astonished and confused by his statement we all cheered(that is what we usually do in a class when confused or when siuation is out of hand).The takeoff was routine introduction about science..etc etc..
          People started to become impatient as the guys who take the attendance everyday hadn't arrived yet.Looking at our gestures he announced"I know what you are waiting for..I don't take any attendance.My duty is to teach you science.Its ultimately you who have to take it.If you are not interested to listen I can't help it and I don't want to impose anything upon you.You may leave the class quitely,I'll never mind."
          Without a thought  people started to walk out,most of them 'inspired' by their friends although some of them stayed and some remained in confusion till the end of the class whether to go or not.
            What I thought at that moment was the ATTITUDE he has unlike the other one who is quite young,an expert in making presentation and is trying to give us a training in the course while this one is trying to TEACH us.That was the moment I really started to listen to him along with most others who might have felt the same.
            

Friday, February 19, 2010

THANQ!!

        Finally...finally....finally....found time.Please accept my apologies for being so late.Infact I am so pleased that some of my friends really read the blog and gave me honest suggestions(mostly because of pressure from my side,they wouldn't have read it otherwise!!)
        Of late I have been worrying too much about my future plans( In fact bad performance in the first mid sem fuelled these thoughts!!)I mean thoughts like."What am I till now...neither a wonder nor a blunder","Not too safe at the same time...too skeptical to worry","Will I remain the same all through my life?"and the list goes on.
        Yesterday, suddenly I got a call from one of the Alumni Contact Programme* guys that there was a meeting in the Visitors Hostel at 9 pm.I was expected to attend that.To my surprize there were a few older people sitting along with the programme guys(I am one among them),everyone waiting for an announcement.Then I remembered the big poster outside written "Pioneer batch Reunion" and figured out that they were there for interacting with us!!!Wow!Words can't express my feelings I had then.
         We were expected to ask their interests,favourite places etc as informed by our coordinators.When the coordiantor announced their interests and favourite places etc its really a feast to see their nostalgic gestures.They might have remembered the first time they met in the college!Just like When he announced the alumnus name and interest as watching movies..There was a shout from a corner "You still love watching movies!!!"...and this went on.
         We then escorted an alumnus to the dance Extravanzaa to the auditorium.This was a kind of 'Walk to remember'!!I started to dump out all my confusion I had in my mind about future,opportunities...(not even giving him a chance to reply!)Except a few nods I didn't get a solid reply.In the meanwhile the other two guys revealed their confusion as well.
          Finally after 2 hours or so we have to 'leave' him."Good night"is what we expected.But contrary to that "So it seems that you guys are too much worried about your future,good to listen but let me tell you one thing there is nothing to worry  about your future.There were at times I was about to quit education but some miracle happened and I was here with you.I don't know about your worries.All I know is that YOU WILL SUCCEED!"he continued "When I started off my career I didn't have anything,But today I have my own company and almost everything.You study well and the rest follows you!!"sounded like the "ALL IS WELL" but profound and true as well.In fact cleared off all the garbage in one shot.
        All I had been thinking at that time was to say"Thank you".A 'Thank you' from the heart!!

       (The names are not revealed)   
*This programmme is to make calls to alumni for funds and update their addresses.         
        

Sunday, February 7, 2010

LOST AND FOUND(finding actually)!!!

It's been a long time,reason being midsems(can't help it!!)
      Ever since we entered the college we have never thought about what to become in future(?).Today I attended a career awareness workshop in finance sector by an alumus.Its no great than a boring lecture that would otherwise be on weekdays,but since it is on sunday it is something new!!
      All's well except the CPI constraint and good math that is required for a sound finance career.After 3 consecutive D's in MTH courses, no wonder that I decided not to go for finance(**** CPI)
      The point is its really funny how we opt our career choices.To begin with we do not have any  idea about anything,then explore all the options and choose a BETTER one.The obvious first criteria for most of us is MONEY and the least bothered INTEREST.Then take hell a lot of suggestions from everyone and what not!
      When we are asked a question "What would you like to become when you grow up?"when we were a child we used to blabber something without any hesitation.The reason is we did not bother about the money,career pressures bla bla bla.The only things we thought were the PASSION and instinct.Why can't we do the same now????Why the hell we are filtering out the so called BEST one???!!
       Well this leads to another question..Do I have a passion at all?even though I had,I might have FORGOTTEN it.Again "Why?" because I  prepared for JEE for 2 years ignoring the world outside.That is how we made into here(There are exceptions as well).JEE had become a goal for me but what next...??
        This argument may seem silly to most of us but this is true..the damage the coaching institutes have done to us!!!All the people entering here will definitely not have engineering as their passion.If they have then everyone must be 9 or 10 pointers.Why the levels of competence are decreasing year by year?Why most of us are opting for non-engineering jobs like finance,consultancy etc??
         We did'nt know about Meryl lynch,Mc kenzie bla bla bla before coming here.How come getting jobs or interns became a goal or passion for us all of a sudden.The way I thought is that we have LOST our passions somewhere in our journey!!We have come here to FIND them,the capability to achieve them not just to fit ourselves in some CPI based jobs.Its the passion that should drive us!!

Monday, February 1, 2010

VIVA:

Well,here is the first post..it is a little awkward to post the first one about examinations.But this is what we fear the most.Today I had a viva in my BSE 292 lab course.Needless to say I did'nt do it well.questions were simple and down to earth.Any one without a bio background could have answered them with ease.Since I am a biology student..its never a cake walk.
First question:detail different sterilisation techniques.
Answer:well...pasteurisation,disinfection and what not..started shooting out my fundae without a second thought.
Mam:okk okk..if you are given a big chunk of meat how would you sterilise it?
Me:huh huh....blabbering something irrelevant..a fake promise that I can answer it ..
Mam started to pull the teeth out,started giving clues after clues,Finally I got it,followed by a series of basic ones,which anyoe could get on with easily
Here comes the fun part:
Mam:what is an antibiotic?
Me:An antibiotic is another microorganism that kills a bacteria..its complimentary one(I did'nt know why I said that)
Mam:Ohh..Its a bacteria!!!!that kills other ones.wow!!
Me :Guessing from the gestures that it is a blunder..I switched to saying "Actually we extract from bacteria"
Mam:Whatever ..its not a bac..tell me how it kills the bac.
Me:Stumped,Never studied,what to do now,alright ,since she gave a hint, that it kills a bacteria..let me guess"Mam,It enters the cellwall and.........kills mitochondria huhhh"
Mam:Mitochondra!!!!!bac has a mitochondria!!!
Me:"No its infact DNA." The only other component I knew.."It does'nt have a mitochondria???"
purely guided by my instincts."It cuts the DNA off and kills it"thats it!!
Mam:"ohh hah" a smile on her,obviously because of my ignorance.It does'nt kill the bacteria just inhibits the growth."
Me:Actually I did'nt know it..
Mam:Its okk,You may go now!
I did'nt know abot others.Well they too have enjoyed it.hopefully!!